Race: 6th May 2018

Organiser: Roger Rees (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.)

The scottishathletics Junior Championship will be at Lomonds of Fife on Sunday 6th May. The Championship is open to members of scottishathletics. The categories are U20 (defined as born 1999–2001), U17 (born 2002-2003), U15 (born 2004-2005), with separate male and female awards. There will also be a (non-Championship) race for U13s (born 2006 or later; runners born in 2010 or later are to be accompanied).

As well as being the Championship race for 2018, this race is part of the Junior Hill Racing league – for full details of the league, see http://www.scottishhillrunners.uk/Juniors.aspx.

Registration opens at 10.30am, at the Purin Hill car park (as in previous years), near East Lomond, (car-park is one mile up the hill midway off the Falkland road A912). No entry fee, and a snack and drink will be provided for all runners. We have been lucky with the weather on race day before, but just in case, be sure to bring plenty of warm and waterproof clothing.


The under 13s race starts at midday; all other races at 12.30pm. The courses will be the same as for 2017, with all races starting and finishing near the car park, and ascending East Lomond, with routes varying according to age. The courses are suitable for hill shoes or trainers, but not for spikes. All routes will be marked and marshalled.

Courses are:

  • U13: ABCDEFDCBA (c.2.25k, 100m ascent)
  • U15: ABCDEFGBA (c.3k, 100m ascent)
  • U17: ABCDEFGBCDEFGBA (c.5.8k, 200m ascent)
  • U20: ABCDEFGBCDEFGBCDEFGBA (c.8.6k, 300m ascent)


Sunshine, blues skies and no wind greeted runners at East Lomond on Sunday for the 2018 Scottish Junior Hill Championships (U15, U17 and U20), hosted by Fife AC. Some very competitive records had been laid over the six previous years over the same courses, but four of them fell during some fast but gruelling racing, with Calan Chong (U13 Giffnock North), Sam Griffin (U15 Aberdeen), Anna Hedley (U15 Fife AC) and Lauren Dickson (U20 Lasswade) all posting new bests (and a shout out too to Sam Coull of Ross County who also beat the old U13 record). Other race winners were Ariane Bailey (U13 Pitreavie), Sonny McGrath (U17 Deveron), Helen Chong (U17 Giffnock North) and Hamish Hickey (U20 Ross County).

It was particularly good to welcome athletes from 17 different clubs, from North, South, East and West. With thanks to Dave Francis and his team of marshalls on the course, to the timekeepers and finish line officials, and to Malcolm Patterson of the SHC.

Position Runner Club Time
U13 Females
1 Ariane Baillie Pitreavie 13.24
2 Eden Russell Fife AC 13.34
3 Freya Hedley Fife AC 14.08
4 Katie Smith Fife AC 15.03
5 Tilly Russell Fife AC 17.32
6 Hanna Brindley U/A 18.30
U13 Males
1 Calan Chong Giffnock N 10.57 REC
2 Sam Coull Ross County 11.02
3 Struan Gatherer Perth Strathtay 11.24
4 Marti Penacchio Fife AC 11.46
5 James Mowat Giffnock N 13.14
6 Graeme McDonald Ellon 13.22
7 Joseph Mowat Giffnock N 14.10
8 Daniel Armstrong Fife AC 15.16
U15 Females
1 Anna Hedley Fife AC 15.34 REC
2 Isla Hedley Fife AC 16.38
3 Katie Slimon Highland H 16.44
4 Libby Smith Fife AC 18.44
5 Beau Russell Fife AC 19.27
6 Eva Chong Giffnock N 19.33
7 Abi Hammerman Inverclyde 19.51
U15 Males
1 Sam Griffin Aberdeen 14.28 REC
2 Angus Wright Team East Lothian 14.32
3 Struan Bennet Fife AC 14.38
4 Alex Douglas Perth Strathtay 16.49
5 Guillem Penacchio Fife AC 16.50
6 Patrick Lang Aberdeen 17.26
7 Liam Wyse Fife AC 17.53
8 Andrew Armstrong Fife AC 18.21
9 Jack Donald Dundee HH 20.06
U17 Females
1 Helen Chong Giffnock N 39.40
2 Ailsa Bennet Fife AC 44.37
U17 Males
1 Sunny McGrath Deveron H 28.18
2 Iain McWhinnie Fife AC 29.51
3 Gavin McWhinnie Fife AC 30.20
4 Jack Trainer Garscube 30.59
5 Ben Cameron Forres H 31.10
6 Harry Henriksen Lasswade 32.07
7 Alastair Marshall Livingston 37.53
8 Christopher Watson-Sweeney Giffnock N 39.17
U20 Females
1 Lauren Dixon Lasswade 48.32 REC
2 Anisha Badial Aberdeen 52.11
3 Katie Rourke Gala 56.04
4 Rhona Mowat Giffnock N 60.18
5 Cliona McChoyne Inverclyde 63.25
U20 Males
1 Hamish Hickey Ross County 45.37


Course Records:


  • U13 Isla Hedley, Fife AC 11:19 (2017)
  • U15 Anna Hedley, Fife AC 15:34 (2018)
  • U17 Emily Nicholson, Pitreavie AAC 32:27 (2015)
  • U20 Lauren Dickson, Lasswade 48:32 (2018)


  • U13 Calan Chong, Giffnock North 10:57 (2018)
  • U15 Sam Griffin, Aberdeen 14:28 (2018)
  • U17 Logan Rees, Fife AC 28:09 (2013)
  • U20 George Rees, Fife AC 43:53 (2017)