Congratulations to Fife AC athletes Katie Jones, Hilary Ritchie and Alison McGill, who won the Scottish Marathon Championships team prize, with a combined time of 9:23:30 in the London Marathon, just three minutes ahead of Carnegie Harriers.

Derek Rae placed 8th overall, 5th in the T45/46 category, in the IPC Athletics Marathon World Cup, within the London Marathon - finishing in a PB of 2:37:28. Katie Jones went under 3 hours in the women's marathon in 2:58:02, while Hilary Ritchie placed 10th in the F50-54 category in 3:12:34. Full Fife AC results:

  • 1716 Katie Jones (F18-39) 02:58:02 (category position: 49)
  • 3277 Scott Cassidy (M18-39) 03:10:29 (1588)
  • 3567 Hilary Ritchie (F50-54) 03:12:34 (10)
  • 3622 Alison McGill (F18-39) 03:12:54 (198)
  • 3921 Keren Macpherson (F50-54) 03:14:48 (14)
  • 10151 Ian Ritchie (M65-69) 03:46:31 (33)
  • 21974 Gerry Mcpartlin (70+) 04:29:58 (38)
  • 23892 Derek Adamson (M45-49) 04:37:34 (2429)
  • 25531 Ally McAdam Smith (F50-54) 04:44:28 (622)
Derek Rae in IPC Athletics Marathon World Cup © Virgin Money London Marathon 2016

Anna Hedley won the P7 race at the SSAA Primary Schools’ Cross Country Championships in Kirkcaldy.

Anna Hedley © Graham Bennison 2016

Ruby Methven and Isla Hedley were 3rd and 4th in the P6 category.

Ben Hukins (Leven Las Vegas) won the Strathkinness - Blebocraigs race, first of the Midweek Series, in 25:46, followed by George Rees (Fife AC) and Kristof Anheur (St Andrews University) in 25:52 and 26:00. Halina Rees was first woman in 27:48, third fastest time ever (behind Hester Dix and Megan Crawford. Angela Richardson recorded the eighth fastest time ever in 29:02, with Andrea Rae, Ailsa Cruickshanks and Amie McKimmie also under 30 minutes. Ailsa's time was the second-equal fastest U20 time ever: 29:44.

George Rees set a new course record of 16:12 in the M15-17 category for the St Andrews Parkrun, adding to his M11-14 record. His current time is also faster than the M18-19 and M25-34 records.

Logan Rees (Fife AC) won the Norman's Law Hill Race for the third time in four years, in 30:23, followed by George Rees (Fife AC) first MU20, and Jonny Knox (Anster Haddies), first MV50. Halina Rees was first woman, 5th overall, in 34:52.

Sarah Coutts (Kinross RR) won the Emily Hill Race in 7:59, followed by Blair Scott (Dundee HH) and Scott Vigrow (Dundee HH).

Lots of photos by Pete Bracegirdle here.

Emily Hill Race © John Mill 2016

Hamish Battle (Metro Aberdeen) won the Beveridge Park 5K in 16:14, followed by Ryan Lafferty (Fife AC) and Martin Butcher (Carnegie Harriers). Sheena Logan (Fife AC) was first woman in 18:09, from Kristin Lownie (Carnegie Harriers) and Alison Sutherland (Falkland Trail Runners). Ben Sandilands (Fife AC) won the junior race, with Valencia Wright (Victoria Park) first female.

Scottish Cross-Country and Road internationalist Stephie Pennycook (Fife AC), second overall, shattered the female course record at the Kirkcaldy, Beveridge Park Parkrun clocking 17 minutes 16 seconds. First home, Hawkhill’s Rory Muir went second on the all-time male list.

Results of the Forth Valley League T&F Meeting at Meadowbank are available here. Layla Zuill won the U13 100m A race in 13.60.

Fife AC Women placed fourth and sixth at the National 4/6-Stage Road Relays, with nine athletes in the top forty individual leg times. Annabel Simpson was fastest on her leg, second overall for the short leg. Stephanie Pennycook was second fastest on her leg. The Men's A team placed 25th and the B team (V40) 41st, with the fastest leg times from Owen Miller and Ryan Lafferty.

Start of the 4/6-Stage Road Relays © Graham Kirby 2016

Bryce Aitken was first Fife AC finisher in the Tay Ten, placing 13th in 1:03:06, 2nd V50, followed by Mhairi Boyle, Mitch McCreadie, Sandra Aitken, Sue Whisler and Stewart Davidson.